top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica Fahy

On Drawing Closer to God...


One of the most life-saving prayers you can pray to the Lord as you strive to grow closer to Him is, "Lord, do not let me deceive myself" or "Lord, show me my faults, my sins, my weaknesses - you know me better than I know myself!"

As prideful human beings, we tend toward casting ourselves in a favorable light and tend to ignore - or at the least, brush off - our own faults and weaknesses. Most people shudder over the idea of begging God to show them their own weaknesses. ...but we must be forgetting how tender and gentle the Lord is. It's not like He is going to put a billboard addressed to us: "Jessica, you are this!" Or it's not like He is going to slam us in the head with this devastating realization. The Lord is tender and gentle. The light He casts upon the darkness of our souls and weaknesses of our character will bring a peace with it, coupled with a sincere contrition and desire to change. But we must be willing to know - this is the key. Once the Lord reveals particular sin, or fault, or weakness to us and we humbly acknowledge it, then we can truly grow.

Keep in mind also that the devil loves to swoop down immediately after these moments, inciting us with fear...fear about changing, fear about confessing to the priest or owning up. This is from the devil. He wants to stop you from making strides toward the Lord. Keep Your gaze on the Lord, begging always for His grace, and do what you need to do. God doesn't abandon His children!

Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page