top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica Fahy

"Now is My Soul Troubled"

"Now is my soul troubled. And what shall I say? Father, save me from this hour. But for this cause I came unto this hour." [John 12:27]

Taken from today's Gospel reading, perhaps it is time for us to face the reality that we, as the Body of Christ, need to be ready to face: That we are entering into unprecedented times more rapidly and we must be prepared - spiritually - to suffer like our Lord. I do not say this lightly.



Yes, we've realized that call before, perhaps even talked about it with ease; yes, we've read about past saints who have endured martyrdom and persecution; but this time, maybe, the reality we are facing "leaves our soul troubled."


Well, it troubled the Lord too.


But, are we ready to imitate His response?


"And what shall I say? Father, save me from this hour. But for this cause I came unto this hour." [John 12:27]

This is why we are here. To know, love and serve God in this life so as to be with Him in the next. And in our life, we are called to draw others into the fold of the Catholic Church. Our lives should be marked by sacrifice. Who recognizes the Church today? No one. While she is holy, she is marred like her Divine Spouse; she is humiliated and right now, chained to the authorities like Christ was. She walks in Her Spouse's Sacred Footsteps.


This is not meant to be a "doom and gloom" post. This is just the plain reality we need to first, face. Second, accept. And third, embrace. Yes, embrace. Praise You Jesus!


"My heart is ready, O God, my heart is ready..." [Psalm 56:8]

In this Psalm, the prophet prays in his affliction, and then praises God for his delivery. When we are with Christ, and remain steadfast in union with Him - whether we see that Triumph of the Immaculate Heart on the other side of the suffering, persecution, and afflictions or whether we die for His cause - the victory IS ours. And the glory IS God's, which we will have a share in!


"Be Thou exalted, O God, above the heavens: and thy glory above all the earth." [Psalm 56:12]

I read these words of our Lord to Sister Josefa Menendez a few weeks ago and they have since stuck in my mind. I share them here:


"Do not be afraid of suffering, for you will always be given sufficient strength to bear it. Think of it thus: You have only today in which to suffer and love...eternity will be all joy." [From The Way of Divine Love, Sister Josefa Menendez, TAN Books.]

So first, anyone loyal to Jesus Christ must be willing to face this approaching reality, coming through various chastisements, a rising and almost-bursting-forth New World Order that is literally the seed of Satan, and which can only be crushed by our Lord Jesus Christ who wishes to do so through humiliating Satan by His humble handmaid, Mary.



In Prayer...


First, we really must use this quarantine to deepen our prayer and devotion to Mary. When was the last time you renewed your Marian consecration, or even made one? Do it as a family. Renew your consecration daily through many prayers the Church gives us, such as this by Pope Pius XII. There is a prayer at the end of a past post I wrote that I wrote after re-reading a section of our beloved St. Louis de Montfort's True Devotion to Mary. It is a prayer of self-renouncement for union with our Lady. Try to unite yourself often to our Lady throughout the day through various acts of the will: "Mother, I give myself to You." "Mother, make me like yourself." "Magnify Jesus to me, dear Mother." She's such a tender Mother!


The whole purpose of our union with Mary is because she will magnify Jesus' love to us and help bring us to Him more easily!


"And Mary said: My soul doth magnify the Lord. And my spirit hath rejoiced in God my Saviour. Because he hath regarded the humility of his handmaid..." [Luke 1:46-48]

We want to become "little" and humble like our Blessed Mother.


Second, let us pray for a deepening of the virtues of faith, hope and charity in these times. We desperately need great faith to see the Hand of the Lord and His saving power through all of this. Can you recognize His goodness in all of this, even as He leads you into the desert, into uncertainty, into suffering?


"The apostles said to the Lord, 'Increase our faith!'" [Luke 17:5]

This world is not our home. In order to get us home to heaven, we need to turn away from our sins. God wants us to one day come home! Our suffering is meant to always be a means to our salvation...


"Is it my will that a sinner should die, saith the Lord God, and not that he should be converted from his ways and live?" [Ezekiel 18:23]

And let us not think, "Oh, I've been praying and going to Mass. I've been saying my daily Rosary..." No, this is a wake-up to all of us. May the faithful become fervent and arise out of stupor and tepidity. What practicing Catholic has not yet repented of his lukewarmness?


Third, let us pray for the desire and courage to suffer. Suffering is intrinsically tied into the Christian vocation, contrary to false prophets who proclaim "health and wealth." Suffering is the purest imitation of Christ and a mark of one's union with Him...IF (big if) we bear it in union with Him.

"Whoever does not take up their cross and follow me is not worthy of me." [Matthew 10:38]

Do you see this time as one of many great graces? Let us increase our faith, increase our hope and love, in order to open our hearts so that we may...


"Receive not the grace of God in vain" [1 Corinthians 6:1]

All glory to God! Remember His words and let these echo in your heart:


"These things I have spoken to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you shall have distress: but have confidence, I have overcome the world." [John 16:33]




+ To Jesus through Mary +


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page